Cascade Crew Forum Index Cascade Crew
Message Forums

GarageGarage   1/4 Mile Table1/4 Mile Table   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Wait...GTAs aren't Trans Ams?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
d00012

2007 Pontiac GTA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:53 am    Post subject: Wait...GTAs aren't Trans Ams? Reply with quote

A nice little message from someone on YouTube Laughing

Erm Nice of you to respond to something from 3months ago, Had to remember why the f**k was someone telling me to look up GTA Badging.
-
Dude, the GTA is NOT a Trans Am. Different f***ing package. I'm an expert on Camaros/Firebirds. Especially for the 3rd Generation.

In 1988 There were the following packages,

1. Sport Coupe Firebird (base model) This came with either the 2.8L V6 MFI or the 5.0L 305 TBI

2. Firebird Formula (2nd Trim Level) This came with with 5.0L 305 TBI or the 5.0L 305 TPI

3. Firebird Trans Am (3rd Trim Level) This came with the 5.0L 305 TBI or the 5.0L 305TPI, a few were offered with the 5.7L 350 TPI with hardtop only(not counting C&C ttop conversions)

4. Firebird GTA (4th trim level) This came with the 5.0L 305TPI or the more powerful 5.7L 350 TPI
------------
Bro use common sense. What does Trans Am Stand for... Its the Trans Am Racing Series, Pontiac named the car's trim level after the racing league. Now look at GTA? Lets spell it out for you.. Gran Turismo Americano. Which is ANOTHER Racing Series that Pontiac wanted their car to be named after. They are 2 different racing leagues the cars were named after in trim levels.

You're only argument is "look at the Badging" Take note, in 1988 the Camaro trim levels were only as follows, Sport Coupe, RS, IrocZ. YET ALL THE IROCZs were Badged as a Z28 IrocZ on the Dashboard. You can blame that on GM For wanting to limit costs.